Anuga 2017
Main Top DSM
FSC 22000

FSSC 22000 launches version 4 of the food safety management system standard

Following a 14-month consultation process with industry, certification bodies, accreditation bodies, training organisations and governments, FSSC 22000 has launched version 4 of its international food safety management system certification scheme.

The new scheme requirements include several major changes to improve consistency and to address the growing international focus on food fraud prevention.

Unannounced audits, the introduction of critical non-conformities, prevention of intentional product contamination, and a standardised audit report are all new elements within the GFSI-recognised scheme.

There are also new requirements for transport and storage, food service and catering, retail and wholesale industries.

Commenting on the new version of the standard, Remco Pieters, LRQA’s Technical Manager Food, explained, “The new requirements in FSSC 22000 version 4 respond to stakeholder and market expectations and needs, to provide an up-to-date and rigorous management system for food safety control throughout the supply chain.”

The new scheme requirements can be downloaded for free here and all certified sites will need to be audited against the new version from 1 January 2018.

Source: LRQA

Trackback from your site.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Weekly Newsletter

We hunt down the latest SA and global food-drinks news and trends so you don't have to!
Subscribe now - click here to receive our weekly newsletter!

It's free, fresh and full of additives!

On Facebook