Carst and Walker
dairy winner

Dairy product of 2009

An Extra Mature Cheddar cheese made for Woolworths by Parmalat SA is the 2009 SA Dairy Product of the Year. Cheese master, Danie Nel, and his team from Parmalat’s Bonnievale cheesery, reigned supreme at the Danisco Qualité Gala Dinner in Stellenbosch on Wednesday 22 April.

 The SA Dairy Championships – now in its ninth year – drew 770 entries in five categories: cheese, butter, yoghurt, cultured milk and ice cream. Following close scrutiny by a formidable team of 35 judges from the ranks of top dairy technologists and scientists, 77 dairy products emerged as SA Dairy Champions.

A mere 14 products – less than 2% of the overall entries – received the coveted Qualité mark of excellence.

Parmalat also raked in the highest number of SA Champion accolades, boasting 17 trophies.

Other trophy winners were Fairfield Dairy (seven), Clover SA and Lancewood (six each); Dairy Belle (four); Dalewood Fromage, Kimilili Farm and Rhodes Food Group (three each); Belnori Boutique Cheesery, De Pekelaar Kaas, Fairview Cheese, Foxenburg Estate, Marcel’s Gourmet Frozen Yoghurt, Sunpower Products, The Dairy Connection and Zandam Cheese, (two each); Arista Dairies, Beaconsfield, Danone Clover, Fair Cape Dairy, Geluksfontein Goat’s Milk Cheese, Indezi River Cheese, Klein River Cheese, La Montanara Melkery, Luritzio’s, Ovis Angelica, Prikkelpot, and Stonelees Dairies (one each).

parmalat winnersParmalat reigned supreme at the 2009 SA Dairy Championships. Apart from winning Dairy Product of the Year, it also walked off with four Qualité Awards for excellence and 17 SA Champion trophies.

Pictured right are Pamalat cheese masters, (l to r) at the back; Alan Fourie, Danie Nel, Tertius Carstens and in front (l to r) Hansie van Zyl and Hansie Wolfaardt at the Danisco Qualité gala dinner in Stellenbosch.

Qualité Awards

The coveted Qualité mark of excellence was awarded to less than 2% of the overall entries for this year’s SA Dairy Championships.

In the Qualité stakes, top honours went to Parmalat who clinched four awards. Their closest rivals were Fairfield Dairy, Clover SA and Foxenburg Estate (two each) followed by Marcel’s Gourmet Frozen Yoghurt, Lancewood, Dalewood Fromage and Ovis Angelica (one each).
Qualite winners

This year’s Qualité achievers are: Front, Rene van der Merwe (Foxenburg Estate), Sohndra Willcock (Marcel’s Gourmet Frozen Yoghurt), Danie Nel (Parmalat) Johann Ehlers (Agri-Expo), Alan Fourie (Parmalat), Hansie Wolfaardt (Parmalat), Tertius Carstens (Parmalat).

Centre, Petrina Visser (Dalewood Fromage), Willie du Plooy (Clover SA), Hansie van Zyl (Parmalat), Manie de Jager (Clover, Wesselsbron), Aubrey Potgieter (Foxenburg Estate), Marcel van der Merwe (Marcel’s Gourmet Frozen Yoghurt), Corlia Munnuk (Fairfield Dairy), Morne Muller (Lancewood Holdings), Wouter Jacobs (Lancewood Holdings) Adri de Lange (Lancewood Holdings), Elmarie van Aswegen (Ovis Angelica).

Back, Deon Brand (Marcel’s Gourmet Frozen Yoghurt), Caiden Lang (Fairfield Dairy), Rachel Lang (Fairfield Dairy), Sakkie Smuts (Lancewood Holdings).

Western Cape cheese makers off to France to perfect their craft

Another highlight of the awards dinner was the announcement of the four Western Cape pupil cheese makers who will be awarded bursaries to study cheese making in Burgundy, France.

The pupil cheese makers who will benefit from the 2009 study programme, which was introduced in 2005, are Ingrid Olivier (Wilde & Roare Cheese, Montagu), Gerald Garnad (Simonsberg, Stellenbosch), Anton Kleyn (Caprino, George) and Bongikhaya Nondzaba (Kimilili Farm, Tulbagh).

The quartet will undergo practical and theoretical training in the production of typical French type cheese at a number of cheeseries, followed by a marketing module, which will focus on the commercial aspects of the cheese industry and the innovative uses of cheese.

On their return their progress will be monitored on a continued basis. It is envisaged that they will act as mentors for future cheese makers from previously disadvantaged communities.

agribursaryKobus Mulder (centre, manager dairy: Agri-Expo) will accompany this year’s recipients to France: Bongikhaya Nondzaba (Kimilili Farm, Tulbagh), Ingrid Olivier (Wilde & Roare Cheese, Montagu), Gerald Garnad (Simonsberg, Stellenbosch) and Anton Kleyn (Caprino, George).

Agri-Expo, organiser of the SA Dairy Championships and SA Cheese Festival, has facilitated cheese-making bursaries to the value of R1.2 million since 2004.

Dowload full results here

Qualité winners (Word doc)

Results by manufacturer (pdf)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Trackback from your site.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Weekly Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter! It's free!

On Facebook